Speech and Debate

The Chiefs Speech & Debate Team is one of Cherokee High School’s oldest and most successful programs.  Competing on both the OSSAA and Nationals Speech and Debate Association circuits, the Chiefs Speech Team has enjoyed impressive individual successes beginning in 1939 when Curtis Guernsey and Margie Dell Oare qualified for the NSDA (then National Forensic League) tournament. Since then, four more students have competed on the national level, earning positions in the top sixty.  The speech team has won countless state, regional, and district awards, and continues to thrive as a leading team in Class 3A Competition. The Speech & Debate Team is coached by Jason Paris, and Lindsay Headlee.

National Competitors

Curtis Guernsey, 1939, OO

Margie Dell Oare, 1939, DD

Peter Keltch, 1965, Sen

Jill Wright, 1966, OO, DI

Garrett Starks, 2009, 2011, HI

Avery Bagenstos, 2014, 2015, 2016, DI


State Champions / All-State Winners

Cody Stinnett, Class of 2004, Poetry

Luke Hague, Class of 2005, Cross-Examination Debate

Brent Bowers, Class of 2004, Cross-Examination Debate

Shannon Lavicky, Class of 2006, Original Oratory

Katelyn Hague, Class of 2007, Dramatic Duet

Tyler Shafer, Class of 2008, Dramatic Duet

Keithan Smith, Class of 2008, Poetry

Kohannah Hess, Class of 2009, Dramatic Duet, Poetry, Monologue

Garrett Starks, Class of 2011, Standard Oratory, Humorous Interpretation, Dramatic Duet, Monologue

Avery Bagenstos, Class of 2016, Dramatic Interpretation, Humorous Interpretation, Monologue

District Calendar

Today's Events

Current Weather


Temperature: 46˚F

Current Conditon: Clear

Wind Speeds: 11.25mph

Chance of Precipitation: 0%

5-day Outlook

Temperature: 57/24
Partly cloudy starting in the evening.
Temperature: 61/38
Partly cloudy starting in the evening.
Temperature: 62/47
Mostly cloudy throughout the day.
Temperature: 65/36
Partly cloudy throughout the day.
Temperature: 55/30
Clear throughout the day.

Contact Information

Cherokee Public Schools
412 E 5th Street
Cherokee, Oklahoma 73728

Monday – Friday

8:00am to 3:45pm

Phone: (580) 596-3391
Fax: 580-596-2319

Quick Links

Share This Page

  • Tweet Page
  • Google+ SHARE

High School Facebook

SchoolWay App